Recently, staff of Federal University Oye Ekiti trooped out to elect their representatives in the university governing council.

This was necessary following the appointment and inauguration of members of governing council for the 12 newly established universities by the immediate past government of President Goodluck Ebele Jonathan, GCFR. Contestants were: Prof. A.A. Aganga, Head Ikole campus and Director, Academic Planning, Dr. Adesola Satimehin University's SIWES Coordinator, Barr. Amaechi Eni, Legal Officer, Dr. Ken Egbo, Deputy Director, ICT, Mrs.B.O. Obabire acting Director Internal Audit, Mr. Patrick Ogunjobi, Coordinator CEDSS and Dr Mojisola Oyavure. Prior to the Election Day, contestants were seen all over

the campuses of the university with their supporters canvassing and soliciting for votes from members of the congregation. At the auditorium, the venue of the election, there was a unique approach adopted to prevent double voting. Before a staff could gain access to the auditorium, there was proper accreditation, he or she is presented with a ballot paper that qualified them to vote.

The voter identification number on each card was unique to the card holder to avoid double voting, just like every other election in Nigeria and the world at large. The election covered all the processes which included accreditation of voters, casting of votes and counting of results. Similarly, voting was guided by seven electoral officials nominated by the congregation to avoid manipulations and ensure smooth conduct of the exercise. The electoral body was chaired by Prof. Bakare. Meanwhile, the Vice Chancellor, Professor Isaac U. Asuzu, in his remarks before the election had reminded voters that the election was being held in an academic environment hence, the need for proper conduct. He further urged them to shun rigging and abide by the electoral rules. After the casting of ballots, the electoral committee counted the votes while the vice chancellor announced the results.

Number of voided votes was 28 while there was one valid proxy ballot. Prof. Aganga polled 258 votes while Mrs. Obabire got 173 votes.Prof.Aganga and Mrs Obabire therefore emerged as the Congregation representatives on the Governing Council.

Meanwhile, at the Senate meeting held on Wednesday May 29 2015, Prof. Olusegun Oladimeji, Prof. Sylvia Uzochukwu, Prof. Olugbenga O. Amu and Prof. Sola Atere also emerged at the election conducted to nominate Senate representatives on the Governing Council.