Academic Staff Union of Universities (ASUU) FUOYE chapter elected its maiden executive into office to administer the affairs of the union for the next two years. The election process which took place on the floor of the ASUU congress at FUOYE was presided over by chairman of a four-man electoral committee headed by Dr Adeyemi, Associate Professor and acting Head, Department of Demography and Social Statistics. Chairman, Ekiti State University (EKSU) chapter of ASUU, Prof Olu Olu, attended the congress as an observer and adviser. The congress had in attendance all categories of academic staff - professors, associate professors, senior lecturers, lecturers 1& 2, assistant lecturers and graduate assistants. Library staff and research officers were also present.

All members present participated in the election which took place on Monday, May 25, 2015.

At the end of the voting exercise, the following members emerged as members of the new executive: Dr Dosu Malomo, Chairman (Chemistry Department); Dr Ogunjimi, Vice Chairman (Department of Agric Economics and Extension); Dr Mrs Chinyelu Agwu, Secretary (Department of English and Literary Studies); Mr Chuka Okoli, Assistant Secretary (General Studies Unit); Dr Abiodun Lawal, Financial Secretary (Department of Psychology); Dr S. K Ojo, Treasurer (Department of Microbiology) Dr Apata, Investment Secretary (Department of Agric Economics and Extension), Dr Fajinmi, Welfare Officer (Department of Crop Science and Horticulture), Dr Loretta Ntoimo, Auditor (Department of Demography and Social Statistics).

Our investigation revealed that the new executive has since commenced work on urgent matters affecting academic staff welfare in FUOYE.