The newly elected executive of Crop Science Students Association of Nigeria, (CSSAN), FUOYE chapter solemnly pledged to approach their duty with every sense of responsibility. This vow was made as they took the oath of office following their inauguration which took place at the Faculty of Agriculture Theatre Hall, Ikole Campus on Wednesday March 17, 2015.

In his opening speech, Dr S. O. Adigbo who represented the Head of Department urged the students to commit themselves fully to the profession and be proud of their course of study. He stressed that Crop Science as both a discipline and profession is capable of assisting in feeding the nation as well checking economic dependency particularly in the area of food security. He reassured the students that they would not have any cause to regret that they took up the profession because there are plenty of opportunities for graduates and professionals of Crop Science.


Dr O. T. Adeniji, who administered the oath of office, also encouraged the pioneer executive of the association to work together as a team in favour of the students they represent. He admonished them to be proud of the profession and work to bring about innovative ideas and performances that will show-case the profession to the university community in particular and Ekiti State in general.


In his speech, Head of the Department, Professor S. A. Adebitan, who joined the ceremony later from an official engagement, assured the executive and all the students of his personal support and that of the department to ensure the association was sustained.


Delivering a goodwill message from the Programme Officer, Agricultural Development Programme (ADP) Ekiti State Chapter, Mr. T. O. Oyewumi, promised to collaborate with the university and students’ groups such as CSSAN in promoting the laudable profession. He assured the executive and students that the Programme Officer would welcome students that are ready to undertake Industrial Training (IT) programme in Ekiti State ADP. According to him, job opportunities abound for graduates of Agricultural Science in agricultural companies, commercial farms and government institutions, adding that the profession will give the students the privilege to double as self-employed and employers of labour.


Members of the CSSAN executive are Osadebey Philip Joseph, President, Bamiteko Monjolaoluwa, Vice President, Ahunanya Ezekiel Eberechukwu, General Secretary and AsonibareIteolorun Blessing, Treasurer. Others are ToluwalopeSaliuSuleman, P. R. O., AdaraTaiwo Mary, Welfare Director, Oyelowo Deborah, Financial Secretary and Fagbuaro Stephen Adegboyega Assistant General Secrtary.