Congratulations to Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria. The National Universities Commission (NUC) has released its rankings for all Universities in Nigeria, both private and government owned, and the rankings showed quite curious results.

According to the ranking, out of over hundred (100) ranked Universities in Nigeria, Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria came out top, beating University of Lagos, and Obafemi Awolowo University to second and third places respectively.

At the 4th position is University of Ibadan. The only Non-Federal University in the top ten ranking, National Daily gathered is Covenant University, Ota which also emerged as the best Private University in the ranking on the 6th position in the National Ranking.

Lagos State University, (LASU), Ojo is the best ranked State University at 16th position. Other Universities at the top include: University of Ilorin at 5th, University of Nigeria, Nsukka at 7th, while University of Benin, University of Abuja and University of Port Harcourt occupy the 8th, 9th, and 10th position respectively.

Sitting at the bottom of the ladder are: Crescent University, Abeokuta at 108th, Rhema University, Aba at 109, Wesley University of Science and Technology, Ondo State at 110th and lastly Samuel Adegboyega University, Ogwa ranked 111th.

Meanwhile three universities were unranked. They are: Pan African University Lagos, Adamawa State University Mubi and Plateau State University.

Here is the full List of Ranking:

1 Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria, Kaduna State
2  University of Lagos,  Akoka-Lagos
3  Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-Ife, Osun State
4  University of Ibadan, Ibadan, Oyo State
5  University of Ilorin, Ilorin, Kwara State
6  Covenant University,  Ota, Ogun State
7  University of Nigeria, Nsukka, Enugu State
8  University of Benin, Benin City, Edo State
9  University of Abuja, Abuja, FCT
10  University of Port Harcourt, Port Harcourt, Rivers State
11  Federal University of Technology, Minna, Niger State
12  Federal University of Technology, Owerri, Imo State
13  University of Agriculture, Abeokuta, Ogun State
14  Federal University Oye-Ekiti, Ekiti State
15  Usmanu Danfodio University, Sokoto
16  Lagos State University, Ojo
17  Federal University of Technology, Akure, Ondo State
18  Babcock University, Ilishan-Remo, Ogun State
19  Bayero University, Kano, Kano State
20  American University of Nigeria,  Yola, Adamawa State
21  Ladoke Akintola University of Technology, Ogbomoso, Osun State
22  Afe Babalola University, Ado-Ekiti, Ekiti State
23  University of Jos,  Jos, Plateau State
24  Landmark University, Omu-Aran, Kwara State
25  Nnamdi Azikiwe University, Awka, Anambra State
26  University of Uyo,  Uyo, Akwa Ibom State
27  Abubakar Tafawa Balewa University,  Bauchi
28  Michael Okpara University of Agriculture, Umudike
29  Enugu State University of Science and Technology, Enugu
30  Rivers State University of Science and Technology, Port Harcourt
31  Adekunle Ajasin University, Akungba Akoko
32  Benue State University, Makurdi
33  Redeemer’s University, Mowe
34  Kwara State University, Malete
35  Veritas University,  Abuja, FCT
36  Osun State University, Oshogbo
37  University of Agriculture, Makurdi, Benue State
38  Nasarawa State University, Keffi
39  African University of Science and Technology, Abuja, FCT
40  Ekiti State University, Ado-Ekiti
41  University of Calabar, Calabar, Cross River State
42  Kogi State University, Anyigba
43  Tai Solarin University of Education, Ijebu-Ode, Ogun State
44  Federal University Dutsin-Ma, Katsina State
45  Ebonyi State University, Abakaliki
46  Federal University, Ndufu-Alike, Ndufu-Alike
47  University of Maiduguri, Maiduguri, Borno State
48  Umaru Musa Yar’Adua University,  Katsina
49  Nile University of Nigeria, Abuja, FCT
50  Bowen University,  Iwo
51  Al-Hikmah University, Ilorin, Kwara State
52  Delta State University, Abraka
53  Niger Delta University, Wilberforce Island, Yenagoa, Bayelsa State
54  Abia State University, Uturu
55  Ambrose Alli University, Ekpoma, Edo State
56  Modibbo Adama University of Technology, Yola, Adamawa State
57  Federal University Otuoke, Bayelsa State
58  Imo State University, Owerri
59  Olabisi Onabanjo University, Ago Iwoye, Ogun State
60  Federal University of Petroleum Resources, Effurun, Delta State
61  Kaduna State University, Kaduna
62  Federal University Lokoja, Kogi State
63  Akwa Ibom State University, Uyo
64  Benson Idahosa University, Benin City, Edo State
65  Paul University, Awka, Anambra State
66  Federal University, Dutse, Jigawa State
67  Ajayi Crowther University, Oyo Town, Oyo State
68  Lead City University, Ibadan, Oyo State
69  Bingham University, Auta Balaifi
70  Baze University, Abuja, FCT
71  Ibrahim Badamasi Babangida University, Lapai, Niger State
72  Chukwuemeka Odumegwu Ojukwu University, Uli
73  Joseph Ayo Babalola University,  Ikeji-Arakeji
74  Madonna University, Okija
75  Crawford University, Faith City
76  Cross River University of Technology, Calabar
77  Caritas University,  Enugu, Enugu State
78  Ondo State University of Science and Technology, Okitipupa
79  Bells University of Technology, Ota, Ogun State
80  Igbinedion University, Okada, Edo State
81  Elizade University,  Ilara-Mokin
82  Achievers University, Owo, Ondo State
83  Caleb University,  Imota
84  Kano University of Science and Technology, Wudil
85  Federal University, Lafia, Nasarawa State
86  Sokoto State University, Sokoto
87  Fountain University, Oshogbo, Osun State
88  Adeleke University,  Ede, Osun State
89  Federal University, Kashere, Gombe State
90  Federal University, Wukari, Taraba State
91  University of Mkar, Mkar, Benue State
92  Oduduwa University, Ile-Ife, Osun State
93  Godfrey Okoye University, Ugwuomu-Nike
94  Taraba State University, Jalingo
95  Obong University,  Obong Ntak
96  Yobe State University, Damaturu
97  Renaissance University, Enugu, Enugu State
98 Salem University,  Lokoja, Kogi State
99  Wellspring University, Benin City, Edo State
100  Al-Qalam University, Katsina,   Katsina State
101 Novena University, Ogume
102  Western Delta University, Oghara
103  Gombe State University, Gombe
104  Kwararafa University, Wukari, Taraba State
105  Bauchi State University, Gadau …
106  Kebbi State University of Science and Technology, Aliero
107  Tansian University, Umunya …
108  Crescent University, Abeokuta, Ogun State
109  Rhema University, Aba, Abia State
110  Wesley University of Science and Technology, Ondo State
111  Samuel Adegboyega University, Ogwa
Unranked – Pan African University, Lagos
Unranked – Adamawa State University, Mubi